Linux Mint 12

I just installed LinuxMint 12 to be the sole OS on my Dell Inspiron 1525. When I first saw it I thought it was far too simple and a long step backwards from Mint 10 which I really like. I set about using Synaptic Package Manager to load icons and themes and as I did that Mint 12 was updating. It looks really cool now. There is a dashboard for Windows and Apps which comes over the desktop in a charcoal veil. I have had some trouble with Firefox and now Chromium but I figure those things will sort themselves out. I was glad to see the Banshee Music Player and am happy I can get the software I want from the Software Manager or the Synaptic software manager. It takes a little while to get it how you want but I really like this version of Mint so far and appreciate the new look and operability. If you are used to Mint it will probably throw you as it did me. The first thing you need to do is load these lines one at a time into Terminal so you get meta mate going:

sudo apt-get update

sudo apt-get install mint-meta-mate

Then start loading the packages you feel are missing or search for them in the menu.

Leave a Reply

