EdWeb for South Australian Teachers

EdWeb front page I have been working with EdWeb and am setting it up to have the things I know I will always need – maps, cuisine, links to good french learning materials. In addition I have made a page for La Fontaine’s Le Corbeau et Le Renard. I have the French and English text and then the link to my multimedia Powerpoint on Slideshare but on EdWeb I can also include it as a downloadable file which can be viewed locally. EdWeb French in Asia pageIn addition , one of our focuses this year is the Asian connection so I have started a page with the research I have been doing on this. It is very easy to upload the resources to be used on the site. It is easy to put those resources onto the pages. It takes a while to fiddle between the coding page and publish layout to get the items in the right place. it can also be quite difficult to do the hyperlinks if the text refuses to highlight. I got around that with the keyboard. Place the cursor at the end of what you want to highlight and use the arrow left key then the arrow up for as many lines as you need. You can then create the hyperlink. EdWeb wouldn’t work in Firefox, was not very good in Opera and was manageable in Explorer. The 5MB space means the site is very simple. I cannot upload videos as is suggested since some of the videos I have made are 300MB. Students could also make an EdWeb page from their EdSuite accounts and they are then approved for publishing by the teacher. My publishing is still “pending” according to the site so my pages are available locally but not on the web. It is not clear who does the approving nor how the approval by a teacher goes through. I can at least work on EdWeb on any computer and it will mean I have key resources available at any time. I’ll add to the site as I go along and hope the publishing to an online venue will become clearer!

Leave a Reply

